DUI

If there's anything that's true about Omaha, it's that it's a college town. Just an hour or so northwest of my alma mater, University of Nebraska - Lincoln, and housing a campus of its own, there's always something fun to do and, well, trouble to get into. One of the most common reasons for arrests is driving under the influence. While DUIs are typically caused by drinking and driving, the legal definition doesn't start and end with alcohol. If you're impaired by any type of substance and choose to operate a vehicle anyway, you're at risk of being charged with a DUI. This type of criminal charge is not to be taken lightly. In addition to the consequences it has on your own life, it's important to think about pedestrians and other drivers who could be injured as a result of driving under the influence.

Facing a DUI charge?

Schedule a Consultation

DUI Legal Penalties in Nebraska

The law does not play games when it comes to dishing out heavy fines and lofty consequences for those who get behind the wheel when they shouldn't have. Some of those consequences include:

  • having your licensed suspended for 90 days to 15 years
  • having to take mandatory classes and treated for substance abuse
  • having to use an ignition interlock device in order to drive
  • having to file an SR-22 with your car insurance company
  • having to pay $500 to $1000 in fines
  • having to serve 10 days to 6 months in jail
  • accruing 6 to 12 points on your driver's license

Blood Alcohol Concentration Level

Your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level may be tested via breathalyzer. While you have the right to refuse to take a breathalyzer test, doing so results in the automatic penalty of losing your driver's license for an entire year. If you agree to take the test, passing or failing depends on a few factors:

  • Your age — If you're under 21 years of age, you will fail if you blow higher than .02%.
  • Type of vehicle — If you're driving a commercial vehicle, your BAC cannot be higher than .04%.
  • Standard - Given that you're of legal drinking age and driving a non-commercial vehicle, the BAC limit is .08%.

If you fail the breathalyzer test and it's your first offense, your license will be suspended for 6 months. If it's your second or third offense, your license will be suspended for a year. Don't be surprised if the officer takes it away immediately.

DUI Attorney in Omaha, NE

If you are facing a DUI charge, you already know that it can have devastating consequences that can alter your independence and ability to live life to the fullest. That's why it's important to get an experienced attorney in your corner right away. If you're in the Omaha, Nebraska area don't wait to call me today for a free consultation.